‘Province 1 to decide its capital in winter session’

4 months अगाडी

MORANG; Province 1 Chief Minister Sherdhan Rai has said that the Provincial Assembly will decide the state’s name and capital this winter session.
“We could not reach a consensus on the name and capital of the province in the extended summer session. The issue turned out to be quite complicated,” said CM Rai during a programme organised by Biratnagar Metropolis on Tuesday.

He said the summer session of the provincial assembly was prorogued on Tuesday after it could not agree on the name and capital of the province.

CM Rai said the decision on the name and capital of the province would always be difficult. “The Constituent Assembly I and II could not decide the name and capital of the provinces for about six years. The responsibility now lies with the provincial assembly,” he said.

Claiming that there were not significant differences among major political forces over the issue, CM Rai expressed hope that intensive talks planned among the political parties and other stakeholders will help reach a decision at the “beginning of the winter session”.

“We feel that our province is lagging behind due to the delay in naming of the capital. But Province 1 is ahead in other works compared to other federal units,” Rai said, pledging to develop Biratnagar, the temporary provincial capital by forging consensus among major political parties.

The constitutional provision has vested authority in the provincial assembly to name and designate its capital by a two-thirds majority. Only Provinces 4, 6 and 7 have endorsed their names as Gandaki, Karnali and Sudurpashchim respectively and declared their capitals.

Speaking on the occasion, Speaker Pradip Kumar Bhandari said the name and capital of the province would be decided soon as per political agreement. “We are moving forward with consensus and cooperation,” he said, adding that the assembly had endorsed all but one of the 24 bills unanimously.

Meanwhile, Mayor of Biratnagar Metropolis Bhim Parajuli urged the provincial government as well the assembly to retain its capital in Biratnagar.

          October 10, 2018 11:21 am | English

प्रतिकृयाहरू :


भर्खरै प्रकाशित