22 UML lawmakers including eight close to Oli-led faction vote in favor of PM Deuba

July 19, 2021 8:08 am

KATHMANDU : Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba secured an overwhelming majority of votes in parliament as he tested the floor in the first meeting of the reinstated parliament on Sunday evening.  Of the total 249 lawmakers present in the meeting of House of Representatives (HoR), Deuba secured 165 votes in the floor test.

This was possible with the support of Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Center), both the factions of Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) led by Upendra Yadav and Mahantha Thakur and  22 lawmakers of  the CPN-UML .

Interestingly, eight UML lawmakers voting in favor of Deuba in the floor test included lawmakers close to former Prime Minister K P Oli. Here is a list of UML lawmakers who voted in favor of Prime Minister Deuba in parliament.

1.    Madhav Kumar Nepal

2.    Bhawani Khapung

3.    Mukunda Neupane

4.    Birod Khatiwada

5.    Jiwan Ram Shrestha

6.    Kalyani Khadka

7.    Metmani Chaudhary

8.    Parbati Bishunkhe                              *Previously with Oli faction

9.    Hira KC                                               *Previously with Oli faction

10.  Krishna Kumar Shrestha Kisan          * Previously with Oli faction

11.  Gopal Bam                                          * Previously with Oli faction

12.  Prem Bahadur Ale                               *Previously with Oli faction

13.  Laxmi Chaudhary

14.  Nira Devi Jairu

15.   Ram Kumari Jhankri

16.  Dhan Bahadur Budha                          * Previously with Oli faction

17.  Bina Budhathoki                                   * Previously with Oli faction

18.  Sarala Yadav

19.  Pushpa Kumari Karna

20.  Kalila Khatun

21.  Samina Husain                                     * Previously with Oli faction

22.  Krishna Lal Maharjan

At least nine lawmakers close to Madhav Kumar Nepal-led faction had walked out of the parliament meeting even as the Nepal-led faction earlier announced to vote in favor of Deuba. Arguing that the decision of the Mahantha Thakur-led faction of Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) to vote in favor of Deuba was an ‘immoral’ act, the lawmakers argued that they would not take part in such an immoral act.

          July 19, 2021 8:08 am | English

प्रतिकृयाहरू :